Is Blue Mountains part of Greater Sydney?

If you’re visiting the Blue Mountains for the first time, you might be wondering what state it is in and whether it’s part of NSW or a separate region. So, let me clear this up for you and tell you a little bit about the Greater Sydney Region and the Blue Mountain Council.

Is Blue Mountain a part of Greater Sydney?

Yes, Blue Mountains lies in the western part of the Greater Sydney Metropolitan Area, Australia.

Greater Sydney Region

Aerial view of Greater Sydney Region in New South Wales, Australia
Aerial View Of Greater Sydney Region, NSW, Australia

The Greater Sydney Region (GSR) also referred to as Sydney Region or Greater Sydney metropolitan area, is a region of the state of New South Wales. It has an area of 55,000 ha. It covers different localities like the city of Sydney, the Blue Mountains, Liverpool, Chatswood, Sutherpool & more.

It can be divided into these districts:

  1. Central City District: Blacktown, Cumberland, Parramatta, and the Hills Shire.
  2. Eastern City District: Bayside, Burwood, Canada Bay, City of Sydney, Inner West, Randwick, Strathfield, Waverley, and Woollahra.
  3. North District: Hornsby, Hunter’s Hill, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Mosman, North Sydney, Northern Beaches, Ryde, and Willoughby
  4. South District: Canterbury-Bankstown, Georges River, and Sutherland
  5. Western City District: Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Liverpool, Penrith, and Wollondilly.

The Blue Mountains are located in the Greater Western Sydney region. It also includes Central Coast up north and Wollongong and Shellharbour down south. 

Blue Mountain City Council

The Blue Mountain City Council has an area of 1431.1 sq. km under it and is divided into four wards. It is located at 2 Civic Place Katoomba NSW 2780. The Blue Mountains area has a population of around 79,118 living in 27 towns and villages. The major areas in this locality are KatoombaBlackheath, and Springwood.

It has 12 members, including the Mayor, who is elected by the Councillors. These Councillors are elected every 4th year. The council’s General Manager is appointed by the council, which in turn is responsible for managing the administration. The current Mayor is Clr Mark Greenhill. The meetings are held on a 4-week cycle. The council acts as a governing body responsible for the well-being of the residents, taking care of the environment, making the city accessible and liveable, and making it economical and financially sustainable.

Get in touch with the city council at:

  • Phone: 02 4780 5000
  • Fax: 02 4780 5555
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Web:

The region has the most amazing looking scenic setting to it, which attracts several tourists and explorers from all around the world. Blue Mountain is also quite famous for being the city surrounded by the UNESCO declared World Heritage National Park Area. The town has good connectivity with a railway line that passes through its towns and villages. The railway line and road connectivity make the city more accessible to residents and tourists traveling to the Blue Mountains.

Explore more about the Greater Sydney region here.